Call for Scores

Call for Scores Spring 2019


Deadline: January 15, 2019

The Astoria Choir invites submissions for its fifth annual call for works to be programmed on either its Canten a Coro concert on Saturday, March 9 or Concert for Equality on Saturday, June 8. Canten a Coro will feature music in the Spanish language or by composers of Spanish-speaking countries. Concert for Equality will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots and will feature Kawarsky’s Prayers for Bobby.


    • Composers must live or be matriculated at a college in New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut
    • Electro-acoustic works will not be considered
    • Works previously selected in TAC’s score calls are ineligible; however, those composers may submit different works
    • Works should not exceed eight (8) minutes; single movements from larger works will be accepted
    • Composers may submit multiple works with each work sent as a separate submission with separate submission fee
    • Works for Canten a Coro should either use Spanish text or engage the culture of Spanish-speaking countries, be written for mixed choir, and can be a cappella or with piano.
    • Works for Concert for Equality should address themes of inclusiveness and diversity, be written for mixed choir, and can be a cappella or use any combination of the following instruments: 1 oboe, 1 harp, 2 violas, 1 cello, 1 bass, 1 piano
    • Up to three works may be chosen to be performed
    • Each selected composer will be invited to attend a rehearsal and meet with the choir
    • A choral score and any instrumental parts for Concert for Equality are due by March 1, 2019
    • Composer(s) are highly encouraged to attend the concert. No additional funding is available for travel costs.

Submission Process:

    • Please submit using our website:
    • An anonymous copy of the full score as a PDF, free from any identifying markings including name, commissioning party, or dedication
    • Information Sheet with the following details, as a separate PDF:
          • Composer’s name, phone number, mailing address, and email address
          • Title and duration of work
          • Statement that the text is in public domain or written permission for use of text
          • Transaction number from PayPal submission fee (found in the upper-right corner of the confirmation email)
    • An anonymous recording of the work as an .mp3 file or link to streaming audio in Google Drive.
    • MIDI realizations are acceptable
    • Submission Fee: $10, payable through PayPal
          • You may follow the links below to pay the fee and submit your score.
          • You needn't set up a PayPal account if you don't have one. Simply click on the "Pay with Debit or Credit Card" button instead of sighing in.


    • $250 for each selected composer and a performance of the work
    • Digital recording of the performance for promotional purposes
    • Selected composer(s) will be notified via e-mail by January 28, 2019 and announced on our social media platforms and website

Deadline: January 15, 2019